Standalone Sunday :: 11/6/16

I feel like the worst person in the world because I’m late posting my own meme. Hm. Since I was unable to get to my computer yesterday or last night, can we just pretend that it’s still Sunday for a few minutes… because it’s still Sunday somewhere, right? (Probably not, but let’s just act like it is!)


standalone-1

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by yours truly where each Sunday we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend! There’s so much focus on books that are part of a series… I thought it’d be nice to focus on some standalone novels, too!

Feel free to join in on this weekly feature by creating your own Standalone Sunday post! And you’re more than welcome to use the image I created. Link to your post in the comments below or make sure you link back to this post so I can check it out and add you down below!


25729161Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in one another tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson’s #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.


This week I chose Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. This is such a wonderful book, filled with heartache, love, and war. It switches back and forth between the POV’s of several main characters, but the chapters are short and very easy to follow. This WWII story will have you teary-eyed and on edge, and I highly recommend this book, especially to lovers of Historical Fiction or war stories.

untitled-design-17

Standalone Posts Around the Blogosphere

Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles

Sarah @ A Little Readers Blog

Debby @ Always Booking

Gretchen @ Chic Nerd Reads

Melissa @ Book Nerd Momo

Lara @ The Heathen

Sam @ One Bookish Girl

Jess @ Beau Coup Books

Kaytlyn @ Bohemian Bookworm

Chantal @ Disappear Into Books

Misty @ Misty’s Book Space

Renee @ It’s Book Talk

Stevie @ Stevie’s Bookshelf


Have you read this book? What are some standalone novels you would recommend? If you want to participate in this feature, link up your post in the comments and I’ll add you up top!

fullsizerender-4

77 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday :: 11/6/16

  1. I have a new post too!

    On Monday, November 7, 2016, :: bookslayerReads :: wrote:

    > Megan @ bookslayerReads posted: “I feel like the worst person in the world > because I’m late posting my own meme. Hm. Since I was unable to get to my > computer yesterday or last night, can we just pretend that it’s still > Sunday for a few minutes… because it’s still Sunday somewhere, righ” >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You weren’t going crazy, thankfully! Lol. And thank you for worrying about me 😊 I didn’t even have internet access until later on last night, and even then only had my iPhone to check my WordPress stuff. I don’t like making posts from my phone because I can’t change font colors and all that on the app. It just makes it so much more difficult to create a nice post. So I was hoping you guys wouldn’t hold it against me if I just waited till this morning when I got back home to my computer. 😊😘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like an amazing book Megan. I haven’t read much historical fiction but the books from that genre I have picked up have all ended up being favourites of mine so I definitely plan to add this one to my to-read list at some point!
    Plus I loved All the Light We Cannot See so the fact that it was mentioned in the blurb for this book is a promising start! Great pick for this week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s