Standalone Sunday // Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

Hi, guys! Happy Sunday, again!

This is the earliest I’ve ever posted on Sunday before! Lol. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. I wasn’t able to get much reading done, but I still had a good weekend anyway. Time for another Standalone Sunday… so let’s see what we got this week!


Standalone

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by yours truly where each Sunday we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend! There’s tons of focus on books that are part of a series… I thought it’d be nice to focus on some standalone novels, too!

Feel free to join in on this weekly feature by creating your own Standalone Sunday post! And you’re more than welcome to use the image I created. Link to your post in the comments below or make sure you link back to this post so I can check it out and add you down below!

→ Note: If you want to participate, but haven’t read many standalone’s, feel free to create a post featuring a standalone on your TBR, or one you want to read. The books you feature can be standalone books that look/sound good to you! It’s not a requirement to use only books you’ve read.


carnivalesqueCarnivalesque by Neil Jordan

Magical storyteller Neil Jordan steps into the realm of fantasy—for fans of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell and The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.

It looked like any other carnival, but of course it wasn’t. The boy saw it from the car window, the tops of the large trailer rides over the parked trains by the railway tracks. His parents were driving towards the new mall and he was looking forward to that too, but the tracery of lights above the gloomy trains caught his imagination . . .

Andy walks into Burleigh’s Amazing Hall of Mirrors, and then he walks right into the mirror, becomes a reflection. Another boy, a boy who is not Andy, goes home with Andy’s parents. And the boy who was once Andy is pulled—literally pulled, by the hands, by a girl named Mona—into another world, a carnival world where anything might happen.

Master storyteller Neil Jordan creates his most commercial novel in years in this crackling, filmic fantasy—which is also a parable of adolescence, how children become changelings, and how they find their own way.


This book won’t be released until June, but I wanted to feature it this week because it sounds amazing and I haven’t heard many people talking about it. This is an adult fantasy novel, apparently full of magic… which is something I love! A magical adult book sounds perfect for me right now, and I can’t wait till this book comes out! If that synopsis doesn’t pull you in, I don’t know what will!

Standalone Posts Around the Blogosphere

Anna @ My Bookish Dream // Lois & David @ Lois Reads Books // Nicki @ The Secret Library // Sydney @ Fire and Rain Books // Susan @ Susan Loves Books // Beware the Reader


Have you read this book? What are some standalone novels you would recommend? If you want to participate in this feature, link up your post in the comments and I’ll add you up top!

fullsizerender-4

50 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday // Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan

  1. Great pick for this week Megan, and oh this book sounds beyond amazing as well. Ever since I read The Night Circus I have loved the idea of books set in carnivals and circuses, unfortunately there aren’t too many out there so all I had to do was read the title of this one to know it was going to be an insta-add onto my to-read list, even before I read the blur.b.
    It sounds great, I can’t wait for it to be released so I can get started on it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Beth! I’m the same… since reading The Night Circus, I love carnival/circus settings! I think Freeks by Amanda Hocking is set in a circus or carnival. I haven’t read it yet. Also, you should try Suspended by Sarah Noffke. It was pretty good. But yeah, you’re definitely right… not many carnival-themed books out there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. I feel circus books are a gap in the market that should be explored by authors more. Hopefully one day.
        I have Freeks on my to-read list but haven’t managed to get around to it yet, and thanks for the recommendation. I’ll be sure to check out Suspended when I get a chance. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I have seen this author’s name pop up somewhere recently? But this is the first of this book that I am seeing. This looks very promising. I never tire of carnival themes either when done right! I will be waiting for your review when it is released 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s